DIY: Make Your Own Stencil Bathroom Decor

I can never find the stencil designs I truly want…so I decided to make my own! Below is the tutorial for my Moroccan inspired bathroom decor! 

Image

Supplies Needed: 

-Wood boards

-Acrylic Paint

-Laminate or Clear Tape 

-Printed Patterns

-Exacto Knife 

-Sandpaper

Image

 

-To begin, start with your wood boards… I primed mine with a coat of white paint to make the colors pop! 

Image

 

-Next paint your boards your desired colors. I used a hard bristled brush to showcase the striations. 

Image

 

Image

 

-While your boards are drying, find and print your desired patterns and shapes! (I used google images to find the “Endless Circle” and “Moroccan Shape” above). After your image is printed, cover the entire surface with your laminate. (You can also use clear packing tape, it can sometimes be more difficult to ensure there are not lines or bumps along your images surface.) 

 

Image

Image

 

-After your image is fully covered, use an exacto knife to cut out your desired shapes. 

Image

 

Image

 

-Use your cut shapes to trace onto your desired colored wood planks…make sure to hold onto your stencils to use again on future projects! 

Image

 

-Once your stencils are traced, use your desired color paints to fill in your newly defined lines! I used an ivory shade of acrylic paint. 

Image

 

-Although the boards are beautiful as they are, I went one step further! Using some Free online printable I found on Pinterest (Follow my boards to get the link!) I used the same steps as above to print and trace my images onto my newly painted boards. 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

-Use a light grade sandpaper to round the edges of your wood, and distress the top. Use different variations of pressure to give it a worn look…there you go! A perfect rainy day project 🙂 

Leave a Reply

